Forbrydelsen

Or as you’re more likely to know it….

Series One

As you probably know, I like detective stories and I like Scandinavia. In fact, I really like Scandinavian detective stories, so things don’t get much better than this for me.

In the last few weeks, I have watched the two series currently in existence and really enjoyed both. I think I prefer the longer-format detective shows to the feature-length, self-contained shows we tend to get in Britain. That’s not to say the format is perfect – the first series, and to a lesser extent the shorter (and that is significant) second series suffer slightly from the dramatic device which requires each episode to end on a cliffhanger.

However, the extended running time does allow the characters to develop and I think my favourite thing about The Killing was the lack of ‘good’ or ‘bad’ characters. As events play out, peoples’ motivations are more clearly and delicately expressed making them much more realistic and believable as a result. We see them compromise, give in to their emotions and make stupid but understandable mistakes.

Series Two

All of this, added to some brilliant acting (I can’t get enough of the subtle little mannerisms which make the characters seem even more real) and the occasional shot of some striking Scandinavian scenery has made this one of my favourite TV shows at the moment.

I’m now off to iPlayer ‘The Bridge’ and see if that’s any cop.

One thought on “Forbrydelsen

  1. Pingback: The Bridge « Phil's Space

Leave a Reply

