Book Diary Special – ‘The Hobbit’ by J.R.R. Tolkein

Sunday 24th November – Friday 29th November

In reading The Hobbit, I broke two of the unwritten rules of my Book Diary:
1. To only read one book at once
2. To read new books (i.e. no re-reading old favourites).

The second isn’t so much of a rule, more a challenge to see how long I could go without re-reading a book. The answer, it turns out, is just short of two years. I think that just before Christmas 2011 I re-read both The Damned United and White Jazz in quick succession, but since I started the book diary I haven’t re-read anything.

My main motivation for picking up The Hobbit again was the impending second installment of Peter Jackson’s films. Having rewatched the first film with Emma, we weren’t sure how big a part the likes of Radagast, the Necromancer and Azog the white orc played in the book. As it turns out, both are mentioned, but only in passing.

As for the book itself, I enjoyed it more than probably any previous reading. I’ve always held The Hobbit to be the poor relation of The Lord Of The Rings due to its more child-oriented writing. This time I didn’t mind the style and found more to enjoy in the story. Having enjoyed The Children Of Hurin recently too, I’m increasingly impressed with J.R.R. Tolkein’s stories even though I would have described myself as a big fan to start with.

Leave a Reply

