Book Diary – August 2014

‘L.A. Confidential’ by James Ellroy

Friday 1st August – Tuesday 12th August

Taking a break from ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ and in preparation for the imminent publication of ‘Perfidia’, I decided to treat myself to a James Ellroy. I re-read my favourite, ‘White Jazz’ a couple of years ago, so I was then torn between either ‘L.A. Confidential’ and ‘American Tabloid’ – and as you can see, ‘L.A. Confidential’ won.

It’s difficult to properly articulate what a brilliant writer James Ellroy is. I think I may have tried before, but I probably failed then and will fail again now. The only reason that he is not head-and-shoulders above all others in my esteem is because his early novels are not all that amazing.¬†However, nobody can make neon-tinted sleaze seem so gloriously admirable as JE. ‘L..A. Confidential’ is a prime example. Anyone who has seen the film will be familiar with elements of the story, but despite that film’s 18-rating, it barely scratches the surface of the depravity and cruelty of the novel, and yet there are few books I have read that can match this for sheer excitement and readability.

‘The Shock of the New’ by Robert Hughes

Thursday 24th October 2013 – Wednesday 3rd September 2014

Feeling arty, I decided to take a break from the procession of Zens in December and get my teeth into something more challenging and educational.

In the end, it took me a long time to read the book. The first few chapters were slow and heavy going, and it was only when I resumed reading in August 2014 that I finally made some rapid progress.

This is often the case with more ‘intellectual’ books. The early pages are establishing the context for everything that follows, and so often contain a lot of disparate information (or so it seems at first).

I’m also concerned that most of the information went straight through my head without registering too closely on the brain as it passed. There is almost too much to take in and too much competition for an already stretched attention budget when reading in the environment of a workplace kitchen at lunchtime.

Leave a Reply

