Book Diary Special – ‘Perfidia’ by James Ellroy

Friday 12th September – paused Friday 3rd October

Hmmmm. What to write? I don’t want to say too much as I am less than a fifth of the way through the book, and so there is plenty of opportunity for me opinions to change. However, I can’t get away from the fact that I am disappointed with it. I’m beginning to come around to the idea that James Ellroy’s best writing is at least a decade in the past, if not actually over two decades ago. I remember finding ‘Blood’s a Rover’ an underwhelming and overly political, overly wordy conclusion to the Underworld USA trilogy, and ‘Perfidia’ seems to have picked up in the same vein. The biggest flaw I can see so far is that it seems that Ellroy has written the book simply to crowbar as many of his favourite characters from previous novels into the same narrative as possible. Not only that, but he is revising their histories and insodoing slightly undermining the strength of the previous (and better) work. Finally, his preoccupation with making the majority of his characters as flawed and compromised as possible only serves to make the suspension of disbelief more challenging.

* * * * *

Resumed 18th October – Sunday 2nd November

I wrote the above before pausing the book and moving on to a couple of quicker reads. I then reluctantly went back to ‘Perfidia’ and a very strange thing happened: it all clicked. Suddenly, the characters weren’t as frustrating, the prose wasn’t so overwrought and I zipped through the remaining 550 pages at a much faster rate. In fact, the last 300 pages were read inside about 72 hours as my enjoyment snowballed.

The thing that I found most impressive (and I expect I will continue to be impressed by) was the consistency with the later books. I am looking forward to the next three editions of this quartet to see just how James Ellroy ties the various threads of his imaginary Los Angeles together so that the lives of these recurring characters arrive at the points they should be come the start of the novels in the later (set) LA Quartet. Given his ability to weave half a dozen threads together in each novel, I’m confident that this is well withing JE’s grasp.

Despite its great length, I will definitely re-read this – probably embarking on an epic string of Ellroy upon the publication of the final volume, and maybe even tying it in with the first Quartet for an even more ambitious 8-book chronological extravaganza.

Leave a Reply

